The great culture of ancient Peru is also expressed by a legacy of a wide variety of native languages. Spanish is the official language and is used in most of the country.

Other languages have been recognized by the Constitution, such as Quechua, which is spoken in many Andean regions in different varieties, and Aimara, the predominant language of the southern Andes. Shipibo, Ashaninka and Aguaruna, used by Amazon communities, are just some of the country’s 43 native languages.